play_arrow

keyboard_arrow_right

skip_previous play_arrow skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
volume_up
chevron_left
  • play_arrow

    DKFM The buzzing in your ears is completely natural.

DJ, tastemaker, visionary

Amber Crain

Background


Amber Crain is co-founder of When The Sun Hits blog (est. 2010), and long-running show host of When The Sun Hits (2011-2015 on Strangeways Radio, 2015-present on DKFM). She has a depth of experience as one of THE tastemakers in the scene this decade, as well as a varied background in quality radio.

DJ Amber Crain has been the visionary behind the When The Sun Hits radio program for ten years now, bringing the best and brightest of the shoegaze and dream pop scene. When The Sun Hits became an oasis for lovers of reverb and tremolo. Her depth of knowledge, and her winning personality made her a cornerstone of the scene that celebrates itself.

Strangeways Radio closed its doors as a streaming radio station in early Summer of 2015, and we reached out to her before her final show even hit air. Doing what we do, and knowing what we know, there was simply no way we could allow a world without When The Sun Hits. Adding Amber’s unique imprint to DKFM was a natural fit, and something that probably should have been established years ago. After a short break, Amber re-launched When The Sun Hits on DKFM, reminding everyone why her brand is so important to this scene.

When The Sun Hits airs every Wednesday evening, 10 pm Eastern, 7 pm Pacific, 2 am GMT (Thursday), repeating exactly twelve hours later (10a Eastern, 7a Pacific, 2 pm GMT). It’s appointment radio.

Rate it

team

0%