1. Live On Air Now DKFM Shoegaze Radio
Back to the top

Packed in with all the new, all at once. Headliners include Lowtide, returning with a sparkling single, the rest of the new Softsurf debut EP makes it into rotation (finally!), new Knifeplay we’ve been buzzing about, pre-release music from the new Crash City Saints LP (previewed here), due next week. New treasures from The Sorry Shop, Wildhoney, Todavia, The Luxembourg Signal, Surf Rock is Dead, Lazy Legs, Widowspeak, Deerhoof, Soda Lilies, IO Echo, Alvvays, Honeyspider, Pure Ghost, Pia Fraus, Fringe, Walking Misery, Mossbreaker, Flying Cape Experience, plus we dive deep into the new LP from thelakesidedrive, which is filled with hazy, blissy moments. All of this, all in one week? Can’t really imagine how we fit it all into one weekend, frankly.

That’s only compounded by last weekend’s newest additions, including She Sir, Celldweller, Bleach Dream, Second Still, Barlow, Doorbells, bokunofune, Flashes, Life Model, Muskk, Sundowners, Castlebeat, FUR, Dactylion, FOREVR, Season of Strangers, The Wagner Logic, and Dots (・・・・・・・・・). We’d be better off playing them all at the same time, to get it all to fit.

New Tracks Weekend kicks off 8 pm Eastern, 5 pm Pacific, and continuing through Sunday at midnight Eastern, 9 Pacific. It’s the first weekend we’ll spin some of these tracks, and may be the last weekend for some others. Remember, you can listen listen via the station page at DKFM,  on Shoutcast, and on TuneIn Radio for iPhone/Android/Windows. Plus we have our branded apps for Apple’s iOSAndroid and Blackberry: listeners can vote thumbs-up/thumbs-down on all the new tracks, helping us determine what graduates to permanent rotation. Your voice counts! Or load up the “Internet Radio” tab of your iTunes desktop client, and you’ll find DKFM Shoegaze Radio under ‘Alternative’. You can even keep up with the new tracks and artists you may have missed, as we’re live-tweeting every track on our sub-Twitter DKFMTracks account. Now you’ll know what you heard, or catch up on what you missed. Keep up with our new Facebook group for real-time discussions of what you’ve heard, and sound off!

And, as always, thanks for listening, and thank you for your support!

We’re honored to trot out a number of world broadcast premieres from TBTCI Records. Renato Malizia has once again outdone himself, stitching together a new and exclusive compilation of dreamy, bendy tunes entitled, Come On Feel The NoiZe, BraZil Class ’17, released on Bandcamp June 9th. If you listen to DKFM, you’ll be well familiar with most of these artists: The Sorry Shop, Kid Foguete, Céus de Abril, Justine Never Knew The Rules, Loomer, Duelectrum, The Us and so many more. These are the artists who’ve spent the last half-decade lighting up Latin America, and lighting up our airwaves. Carefully curated (as usual) by Renato Malizia, this stands as a testimonial to the “deep bench” and incredible talent of these breakthrough artists.

From 10 am to 5 pm PDT (1p-8p Eastern), DJs Heretic and Ariel will season our regular programming with multiple world premieres from this landmark compilation. Of course, you’ll hear all of it during the New Tracks Weekend extravaganza, but, on the day of its release, it seems appropriate to call attention to and celebrate this unique album, and the hard work being done by TBTCI and these top-quality artists.

The full album is available June 9th, via the TBTCI Records Bandcamp site, and it’s a jewel. Congratulations to Renato for pulling together another epic release!